Legal Requirements to Receive a Texas CHL
A Texas Concealed Handgun License may be issued to any person who:
Questions? Email me at Instructor@chl-tx.com,
or call 214 269-1171 (best time to call is noon hour or between 4:30-8:00pm)
- Is a legal resident of this state for at least 6 months.
(This was recently changed. You can now simply declare your intent to
reside in Texas.)
- Is at least 21 years of age. (The course certificate is
good for 6 months, so you can complete the course up to 6 months prior
to your 21st birthday.) New Exception: Active duty or honorably discharged US
Armed forces veterans may apply at age 18. However, the military exemption
does not override federal law preventing an 18-year-old from buying a handgun
or ammunition, and the 'underage' CHL is not recognized by some of the
- Has not been convicted of a felony, including a deferred
adjudication. New exception: If you were convicted of a felony, and the offense
is no longer considered a felony in that jurisdiction, you may qualify for
a CHL -- Unless the legislature changed its mind again. Unfortunately, if you have
a class A misdemeanor that is now a felony, that disqualifies you now.
- Is not currently charged with a class A or B misdemeanor or
an offense of Disorderly Conduct, or under information or indictment
for a felony.
- Is not a fugitive from justice for a class A or B
misdemeanor or felony.
- Is not chemically-dependent. (Note: 3 DWI convictions in
any 10 year period is considered prima facie evidence of chemical dependence.)
- Is a person of sound mind. (Rephrased from the
double-negative in the Texas Penal Code.)
- Has not, in the 5 years preceding the date of application
been convicted of a class A or B misdemeanor of Disorderly conduct.
- Is fully-qualified under applicable federal and state law
to purchase a handgun. (Brady Law)
- Has not been finally determined to be delinquent in making
a child support payment administered or collected by the attorney
- Has not been finally determined to be delinquent in the
payment of a tax or other money collected by the comptroller, the tax
collector of a political subdivision of the state, or any agency or
subdivision of the state. (Note: Under a really strict interpretation
of this part, it would include unpaid library fines!)
- Has not been finally determined to be in default on a
student loan made under chapter 57 of the education code.
- Is not currently restricted under a court protective order
or subject to a restraining order affecting the spousal relationship,
other than a restraining order solely affecting property interests.
- Has not, in the 10 years preceding the date of application,
been adjudicated as having engaged in delinquent conduct violating a
penal law of the grade of felony. (This applies to crimes committed as
- Has not made any material misrepresentation, or failed to
disclose any material fact, in application or request for an
- Has not been convicted of two drug or alcohol class A or B
misdemeanors in the 10 years preceding the date of application.